Books!

I am a genealogy nerd. Ever since I was a teenager, I’ve been practically obsessed with family trees–first, my own, and then later, the family trees of friends. Genealogy requires a lot of research: reading, note-taking, meticulous citations. Hours and hours of time spent in libraries, on websites, in cemeteries and city archives, and curled up in my living room with a book and a highlighter.

If I’m not studying something related to genealogy, I’m diving into something else involving research–it’s kinda my thing. Most recently, it’s been wedding planning. Our wedding is in just over three weeks, and everything is pretty much done, so in the past few weeks, I’ve switched gears to adoption research.

Oh boy, I have so much to learn.

I’ve been reading articles on the AFABC website and doing endless Google searches on attachment, openness, LGBTQ adoption, and anything else I can think of. I’ve read the current issue of Focus On Adoption so many times that I think I have it memorized. I dug out my copy of The Kid and read it again for the millionth time.

Last month, I picked up a copy of Attaching in Adoption by Deborah D. Gray. I hadn’t done a lot of research on the author, but the back of the book looked good, so I figured I’d give it a shot. It completely blew my mind. I realized only a few pages into the first chapter that I have so so so much to learn about this whole new world we’re stepping into.

Which, as a research nerd, thrills me to my toes. As a prospective adoptive parent, it’s somewhat sobering to realize the depth and breadth of what I need to learn, but I feel optimistic. Which is a good thing, because the following books arrived on our doorstep from Amazon yesterday:

I can’t wait to read them! And when I am done these four books, I am going to order a few more off Amazon. I have another dozen or so in my shopping cart. Yep, I really am a research nerd. 🙂

It’s the middle of the night, my husband-to-be and cat are fast asleep, and I have hours to kill until I need to sleep before my night shift tonight. Time for a cup of tea with my new stack of books. 🙂

Leave a Reply

